People | Department of Biological Sciences

In an effort to keep everyone healthy, UNT's on-campus operations are closed until further notice. We're serving students remotely. Please stay connected. Students can learn how their courses will be delivered at sp20classfinder.unt.edu and find plenty of tips at learnanywhere.unt.edu. Stay up to date on UNT’s response to COVID-19 (Coronavirus)

People

Chair/University Distinguished Research Professor

jyoti.shah@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B418
940-565-4494
Instructional Lab Supervisor
aalberts@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A349D
940-369-8683
Adjunct Professor- Biology For Educators
Kelly.Albus@unt.edu
Office: By Appointment- Send Email
Associate Professor - Plant Biochemistry
anapaula.alonso@unt.edu
Office: SRB127
940-369-5229
Assistant Professor- Genetics
mauricio.antunes@unt.edu
Office: 126 Science Research Building
940-369-5457
Regents Professor of Environmental Science, Department of Biological Sciences, and Scholar, Advanced Environmental Research Institute
sam.atkinson@unt.edu
Office: ENV 215E
940-565-2694
Brian Ayre
Professor - Plant Biochemistry
bgayre@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B318
940-565-2975
Rajeev Azad
Associate Professor- Bioinformatics
Rajeev.Azad@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A316, GAB434
940-369-5078
Instructional Lab Supervisor
Office: ENV 325H
940-891-6819
Senior Lecturer, Advisor-Behavioral Ecology, Conservation Biology, Avian Ecology
biology@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A128C
940-565-3627
Associate Professor - Forensic Genetics
benjamin@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A411
940-565-3217
Instructional Lab Supervisor
Glb0020@unt.edu
Office: LS A349B
940-369-5963
Professor- Developmental Physiology
burggren@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B218
940-369-7629
Senior Lecturer, Graduate Advisor-Cardiovascular Physiology
mark.burleson@unt.edu
Office: Life Science 210A
940-565-7388
Kent Chapman
Regents Professor, Director of the Biodiscovery Institute- Plant Biochemisty
chapman@unt.edu
Office: LIFE Sciences B414
940-565-2969
Dane Crossley
Associate Professor- Physiology
Dane.crossley@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B214
940-369-7327
Anthony Curran
Instructional Lab Supervisor
acurran@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A323
940-369-7697
Lecturer, Senior Undergraduate Advisor-Biochemistry
biology@unt.edu
Office: Life Science A126A
940-565-7989
Rebecca Dickstein -
Professor, Biochemistry,and Molecular Biology BioDiscovery Institute
beccad@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B320
940-565-3359
Distinguished Research Professor/ Associate Director of the BioDiscovery Institute- Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Richard.Dixon@unt.edu
Office: Science Research Building 133
(940) 565-2308
Adjunct Professor - Microbiology and Immunology
guy.dixon@unt.edu
Office: By Appointment - Send Email
Office Associate
deborah.douglas@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A210
940-565-3593
Adjunct Professor- Animal Physiology
Benjamin.Dubansky@unt.edu
Office: By Appointment- Send Email
Adjunct Professor- Forensic Molecular Biology Laboratory
Kristi.Dutton@unt.edu
Office: By Appointment- Send Email
Ed Dzialowski
Professor, Developmental Integrative Biology Cluster Coordinator, Division of Physiology & Neurobiology Director
edzial@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B222
940-565-3631
Scientific Lab Technician
carey.earthman@unt.edu
Office: Life Science A; 130
940-565-7697
Adjunct Professor
Richard.Ernest@unt.edu
Office: By Appointment: Send Email
Adjunct Professor - Information Science & Health Informatics
MichelleFarabough@my.unt.edu
Office: By Appointment - Send Email
Jannon Fuchs
Professor
fuchs@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A 322A
940-565-4994
Budget Officer
carol.gagnon@unt.edu
Office: LIFE: B125
940-565-5363
Denice Gallagher
Administrative Specialist I
denice.gallagher@unt.edu
Office: ENV 215
940-565-2694
Harrell Gill-King
Professor and Director of Institute of Forensic Anthropology & Human Evolution
harrell@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A403D
940-565-4335
Instructional Lab Supervisor
Claudia.GonzalezVillarreal@unt.edu
Office: Life Science A: 109
940-565-3611
Professor- Immunology & Parasitology
goven@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A 305
940-565-2627
Assistant to Chair
Shirley.Gulley@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A210
940-565-3590
http://bdi.unt.edu/calvin-henard
Assistant Professor - Microbiology, Molecular Biology
calvin.henard@unt.edu
Office: 132 Science Research Building
940-565-3280
Hunt von Herbing
Associate Professor - Marine Biology and Developmental Physiology
vonherbing@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A253
940-565-3595
Ana Hoeinghaus
Lecturer and Advisor- Ecology, Environmental Biology
anapaula.hoeinghaus@unt.edu
Office: Life Science A128A
940-565-3627
David Hoeinghaus
Associate Professor
David.Hoeinghaus@unt.edu
Office: ENV 310Y
940-565-2228
Administrative Specialist
Sarah.Houdek@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A205
940-565-3586
Roxana Hughes
Instructional Lab Supervisor
roxanabh@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A227
940-565-3602
Associate Professor- Microbiology
lhughes@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A223
940-565-4137
Mark Ingraham
Forensic Lab
Mark.Ingraham@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A404
940-565-4335
Pudur Jagadeeswaran
Professor, Division of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Director
jag@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B120
940-595-2736
Jaime Jimenez
Professor
jaime.jimenez@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A246E
940-369-5077
Jeff Johnson
Associate Professor
jajohnson@unt.edu
Office: ENV 310J
940-369-8071
Glenn Kasparian
Adjunct Professor-Anatomy & Physiology
Glenn.Kasparian@unt.edu
Office: By Appointment- Send Email
James Kennedy
Regents Professor and Director of the Elm Fork Education Center and Natural Heritage Museum
kennedy@unt.edu
Office: ENV 310F
940-565-2981
Lecturer, Advisor- Microbiology
biology@unt.edu
Office: LIFE Science A 126D
940-369-7846
Administrative Coordinator (IAS)
Shelby.Kinsall@unt.edu
Office: ENV 215C
940-369-5207
Dan Kunz
Professor- Microbiology & Biochemistry
kunz@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A442
940-565-2037
Instructional Lab Supervisor -I
Ipsita.Lahiri@unt.edu
Office: LSC A126E
940-565-4472
Assistant Professor
elichten@unt.edu
Associate Professor - Environmental Toxicology
Amie.Lund@unt.edu
Office: ENV 310D
(940) 369-8946
Inventory Specialist
donald.lynch2@unt.edu
Office: Biological Sciences/Stockroom
940-565-3585
Assistant Professor-Aquatic Toxicology & Fish Physiology
Edward.Mager@unt.edu
Office: ENV 310L
940-565-8392
Associate Professor
Brian.McFarlin@unt.edu
Office: PEB 113
940-565-2545
Jessica Moore
Lecturer/Advisor- Genetics & Molecular Biology
Jessica.Moore3@unt.edu
Office: Life Science A; Room 126C
940-565-3627
Lecturer- Genetics & Bio-Nanotechnology
Purnima.Neogi@unt.edu
Office: Life Science B111
940-565-8739
Scientific Instrument Technician Supervisor
Ryan.Oshaughnessy@unt.edu
Office: LSC: A122- Instrument Shop
940-369-3584
Adjunct Professor- Majors Biology & Environmental Science
Samuel.Ogdenjr@unt.edu
Office: By Appointment- Send Email
Dr. Pamela Padilla
Professor- Associate Vice President for Research & Innovation-Associate Dean of Research & Graduate Studies
pamela.padilla@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B220
940-565-3614 or 940-369-8625
Adjunct Professor- Biology for For Science Majors Lab
Nathaniel. Peterson@unt.edu
Office: By Appointment- Send Email
Becky Petrusky
Administrative Assistant (IAS)
petrusky@unt.edu
Office: ENV 215
940-565-2983
Instructional Lab Supervisor
Andrea.Bernardino-Schaefer@unt.edu
Office: Life A 222
940-369-8721
Kim Piccolo
Assistant Director II
Kim.Piccolo@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A205
940-565-3600
Charles Pittman
Academic Technician- Instrument Shop
cpittman@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A122
940-565-3584
Research Analyst
novita.rahman@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B113
940-369-8679
Aaron Roberts
Professor- Environment Toxicology
Office: 310K EESAT
940-891-6957
Scientific Lab Technician
maria.rojas@unt.edu
Office: Life Science B: 226
940-368-0520 Or XT:7629
Douglas Root
Associate Professor
droot@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B322
940-565-2683
Harry Schwark
Associate Professor
schwark@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B313
940-565-4722
Chair/University Distinguished Research Professor
jyoti.shah@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B418
940-565-4494
Vladimir Shulaev
Professor
Vladimir.Shulaev@unt.edu
Office: LIFE B420
940-369-5368
Peggy Simone
Scientific Lab Technician
peggy.simone@unt.edu
Office: Life Science A:130
940-565-3581
Nicoladie D. Tam
Associate Professor
nicoladie.tam@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A246C
940-565-3261
Rudi Thompson
Associate Professor- Co Director Teach North Texas
rudi@unt.edu
Office: ENV 310D
940-891-6713
Steve Timmons
Instrument Shop Supervisor
timmons@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A122
940-565-3584
Warehouse Clerk
Office: LIFE: A114
940-565-3585
Student and Program Coordinator
heather.tunnell@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A128
940-565-3627
Barney Venables
Professor
venables@unt.edu
Office: ENV 310L
940-300-5271
Guido Verbeck
Professor- Associate Dean College Of Science
Gverbeck@unt.edu
Office: Hickory Hall 120
940-369-8625
Jakob Vingren
Associate Professor
Jakob.Vingren@unt.edu
Office: PEB 210H
940-565-3899
Lori Wolfe
Program Coordinator-Texas Teratogen Service
lwolfe@unt.edu
Office: LIFE A351
940-369-8301

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 38,000 students.

Apply now