About Us | Department of Biological Sciences

COVID-19 updates—In an effort to keep everyone healthy, UNT's on-campus operations are closed until further notice. We're serving students remotely. Please stay connected. Stay up to date on UNT’s response to COVID-19 (Coronavirus).

Have you registered for fall classes yet? While COVID-19 has created some uncertainty for us all, UNT is committed to helping the Mean Green family turn dreams into reality. Let's get through this together!

Register for classes on my.unt.edu
Not a UNT student yet? Apply to UNT
Having trouble registering? Get help from an advisor

About Us

The Department of Biological Sciences is one of 18 academic departments in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Our faculty is a community of scholars dedicated to teaching and research in the life and environmental sciences. We measure our success by the success of our students and the quality of our intellectual contributions to society. Our alumni include many distinguished researchers and university professors who are dedicated to high-quality teaching and research.

Faculty members are divided by discipline into three divisions within the department, each with a director. These divisions represent, to some degree, the major research areas of the department:

  • Physiology and Neuroscience
  • Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Environmental Science

Four institutes and centers are represented from these divisions, including the Institute of Applied Sciences (including the Water Research Field Station), the Center for Remote Sensing, the Center for Network Neurosciences, and the Center for Forensic Science.

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 38,000 students.

Apply now